top of page
Search
elenadlp12

liminal space (pt 1)

Well… I’m writing to you from Colorado! I just moved all my things back home from Washington a couple of days ago.


I’ve been in Spokane for the month of May wrapping up my job as Graduate Teaching Assistant with Whitworth University's CASP program. What a gift the spring has been — getting to serve as teaching assistant was basically my dream job. There’s so many things to give thanks for...


Some highlights/points of gratitude from Central America with CASP (January-April):

Guatemala…

  • Visiting some of the same families/communities in Guatemala that I first met 2 years ago as a student

  • Guatemalan tortillas, salsa lessons, chocolate making, walking the streets of Xela

  • Meeting Nate Bacon — Catholic Deacon, missionary with Innerchange, joyful presence, and teller of amazing stories of God at work in the world

  • Continuing to learn about the current and historical socio-political realities of Guatemala

  • Learning with Maestro Henry, former Catholic priest who participated in the process of writing the Guatemalan peace accords in 1996

  • Witnessing the presence of indigenous identity in Guatemala — resistance to oppression and resilience

  • Getting to spend the whole month together as a CASP cohort at language school!

Costa Rica…

  • Spending time at Whitworth’s old Costa Rica campus, now called Casa Nube and part of Association Casa Adobe (the organization that I will be working with starting in June)

  • Having Andrew + Emily (dear friends from Whitworth) in Costa Rica and living at Casa Adobe alongside them

  • Visiting the students at their various internships all around San José and Costa Rica

  • Cooking, reading, writing, playing guitar, playing volleyball, bonfires, kitchen chats, gardening, walks

  • Visiting the beach as a CASP cohort with the Agostini family from Casa Adobe

  • Sunday evening reflections at Casa Adobe (gathering for prayer, scripture reflection, musical worship, and a meal together)

  • Lots of birthday celebrations at Casa Adobe

  • A beach visit with the young adults of Casa Adobe :)

  • Spending 1 day a week at the APAC Restorative Justice program, teaching a workshop on restorative justice, peace circles, and theology with Isaac



And while I’ve been giving thanks for all of these things over the last month as I’ve been wrapping up with the CASP students/program, I’ve also been saying my goodbyes to Spokane… and I think my heart will continue to ache for a little while more :,)


As I’ve had this last month to reflect on the beauty of life these last four years in Spokane, I find myself beginning to dream about this next journey from a deep place of trust and excitement. With each passing year, I become more persuaded (and even maybe let myself be swept up a little bit more) by the creativity that is the Spirit of God -- the One who writes the most beautiful, crazy, interconnected stories. What a joy to surrender to this creative Storywriter. I am so excited for what's next!


to be continued...

42 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1件のコメント


Emily Reidt
Emily Reidt
6月02日

We liked living with you too :0)

いいね!
bottom of page