top of page
Search
elenadlp12

liminal space (pt 3!) // fundraising!

Logistically, I am heading back to Costa Rica on June 30th! I will be working with Casa Esperanza (Hope House) in the community of Los Chiles at the northern border of Costa Rica. Casa Esperanza is serving some of the 3,000 people in transit that pass through the small border town daily, providing meals and a space that hopes to affirm the shared humanity and dignity of each passer-by. Casa Esperanza also envisions the space to be for the community of Los Chiles -- a space of community and connection.


Casa Esperanza is the newest project/branch of Association Casa Adobe, an organization/community that I have had the joy of knowing for the last couple of years and living at for the last three months. I deeply admire their work and witness to be good neighbors in the world to our human and non-human neighbors alike.


I’ll be in Costa Rica for an undetermined amount of time, but tentatively for fundraising purposes, I’m planning through December (and then potentially through a good portion of next spring as well).


Throughout this whole discernment journey, I’ve had this sense that this year is an invitation to continue to journey step by step and to be open to the Spirit moving me as things arise — all with the intention of focusing on migration in and throughout Central America and potentially exploring how restorative justice might connect to migration. My hope is to end this year long span of time working with a non-profit/ministry at the US-Mexico border before heading to Duke where I know that part of my MDiv program will include a focus around migration. It's possible that I might be in some other communities in Central America in between.


There's a lot I could say about fundraising (my wrestlings, the things that make me uncomfortable about it, but also the benefit and gift that I see in it, etc.) so I think I'll include just a few reflections:

  • I think fundraising -- or the re-distribution of resources -- can be one way that we participate in the vision of the Church of Acts. "All the believers were together and had everything in common. They sold property and possessions to give to anyone who had need" (Acts 2:44-45). In the context of the world, the US is resource-wealthy (obviously we have many inequalities that exist within our country, but in comparison to other countries, the US is very resource-wealthy). This is not just by chance or by "God's blessing," but is a story of abuse of power driven by greed for resources, a belief in the need to "civilize" populations of people and a whole other host of problematic issues that can be most simply summed up into one word: colonization!!! Redistributive justice (re-distribution of resources) therefore is one way to participate in the work of restoration that is a necessary response to colonization (both past and present!). It is a beginning step in the hard journey of decolonizing our mindsets, our theology, our systems, and maybe our bank accounts? I also want to say that I still have many questions and hesitations about falling into "throwing money" at things or "giving money" with strings attached that is just another form of control/colonial attitudes. I really do believe in collaboration, but also letting indigenous/native voices take the lead. A community knows what a community needs best.

  • I've grown to appreciate fundraising because it has challenged me to a level of accountability in storytelling that (at least I hope) is mutually transformative for you, for me, and for the person whose story I am telling. I have blogged throughout my service-experiences because I believe that storytelling is part of what it means to be a bridge-builder and peacemaker -- who we are all called to be as Christ followers. Fundraising can create a mutual feeling of having some "skin in the game" (for better or for worse, the reality is that we feel some sense of obligation/accountability to check in when we donate money or receive somebody's generosity). I find myself returning to the Church in Acts that not only, "...devoted themselves to the apostles' teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer" (Acts 2:42)... but they also shared their resources. All of these things are formative to our discipleship, and I think they are not to be thought of separately -- all of these practices are interconnected as our Christian discipleship.


So... all this to say, I will be doing some fundraising for this next year. My ask is for you to partner with me (in whatever ways you might be willing) in this vision, and not necessarily a specific program like much of my previous fundraising has entailed. This means that logistically fundraising might be a little more complex... but hopefully I can communicate this clearly! Please let me know if there are any questions/confusions.


My goal is to keep all cost of living below $500 per month while in Central America (rent, water, electricity, wifi, food). While in Costa Rica I'll be renting a house with a couple of other young women who are volunteering with Casa Esperanza. I’ll be using part of my savings to be able to live in Central America for this next year, but I also invite you to consider donating to support some of these living expenses, but beyond that, to support Casa Esperanza and the other incredible organizations that I might partner with throughout this next year. Ultimately I hope that our resources are re-distributed to our brothers and sisters who are making their migrant journeys, usually just with the clothes on their back and a backpack...


If you are interested in donating and receiving a tax-deduction, please donate to A Rocha USA. Association Casa Adobe is a registered non-profit in Costa Rica which means that you will not be able to get a tax-deduction in the US if you donate directly to Casa Adobe. Association Casa Adobe is partners with A Rocha USA, though, and any funds donated there will be directed to Casa Adobe --> to me.

  1. Click here

  2. Under "Designate To" select "Specific Project"

  3. Under "US Projects" select "I would like to designate my gift to something else"

  4. Under "Other Designation" please write in "Elena De La Paz -- Casa Esperanza"


If you'd like to donate and aren't necessarily needing a tax deduction, Venmo works! You can specify if you'd like the funds to go toward my living expenses or something else at Casa Esperanza (the organization is new and there are always new needs popping up so any donations that are received through Venmo will be put toward needs ie: shoes, food supplies).


If you donate through A Rocha and feel comfortable notifying me that you've made a donation, that would be helpful in making sure the funds get where you are wanting them to go!


I also would love to continue to invite you to be on this pilgrim journey with me — learning, praying, talking, and connecting as we are able… I don’t take lightly this opportunity that I see to get to be a piece of the bridge between our brothers and sisters in the US and our brothers and sisters of/passing through Latin America. Please reach out to me with any questions, ideas, comments, criticisms, encouragements, resources, connections, etc:)


okay this is now 'the end' to the 'liminal space' blogs:)

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page