top of page
Search
elenadlp12

Mi sueño con Jesús (my dream of Jesus)

The other day I was having a conversation at the breakfast table with my host mom and my roommate about dreams. I ended up getting to share with them about a dream that I had of Jesus about a year and a half ago. My host mom was so excited to hear about the dream that she asked me to write it out for her in Spanish and English so that she could share it with people in her life. I'm so thankful for the amazing testimonies she has shared with me too. It has reminded me that God is constantly moving in powerful, beautiful, miraculous ways. It has built and encouraged my faith. I hope this story might be a blessing to you today too. Here are both the English and Spanish versions:)


My dream of Jesus Dreams have always interested me. Usually, I don’t have many dreams that I can remember in the morning, but I have a friend that has many dreams. She has told me a lot about her dreams and the meaning she believes they have when she prays about them. She told me that I should pray for dreams from God and of God because God hears us. In January of 2019, or maybe a little bit before, I began to pray for dreams.

Eight months later, on Ausust 1st, 2019, I woke up crying because I had just had a dream about Jesus! It was clear as day. This was my dream:

There was a crowd of Asian people near the ocean. My leader from the World Race, (a program that I participated in when I graduated high school), his name is Luis, ran up to me and said, “look who is in the water!” I moved to try and see through the crowd. When I saw Jesús, I began to run faster than I had in my entire life. I ran to him while crying y met him in the water. I was on my knees next to Jesus with my hand on his shoulder while he was baptizing many people. He let me stay next to him to watch and pray. I couldn’t stop crying.

I didn’t want to leave his side.

At one point, he reached out his hand and a butterfly, the most beautiful butterfly that I had seen in my life, landed on his hand. I asked him if he knew where one of my best friends was (the friend that told me to pray for dreams). He told me ‘yes’ in a way that showed me that God is all knowing. Then I asked him if he could send the butterfly to my friend because butterflies have an important meaning in her relationship with God. It reminds her of the goodness and faithfulness of God. Jesus told me that he could do that. I was amazed. He was so gentle and kind.

I talked with him and asked him many things.

I told him about my fears and how I didn’t want to tell people about him and that I had a lot of shape because I was feeling nudged by the Holy Spirit to share. When I wasn’t obedience, I was ashamed to spend time with him again.

He listened to me with intentionality, grace, and care. I was able to understand that his love for me will never change. He was so patient. He wanted to listen to me and all of my questions.

He told me to go talk to an Asian man named Vuthy. I told him that I was fearful, and he responded that this man was his brother. I was surprised at his response until I realized that he was saying that the people who he had baptized were his brothers and sisters because we are the sons and daughters of God. He told me that I don’t need to be afraid. He is always with me.

I still don’t have many words for this experience. I am so thankful for this dream. It healed something in my spirit. It was significant at that point in my life because that summer I spent a lot of time thinking about my identity, especially my ethnic identity. I think that the image of the crowd of Asian people validated my ethnic identity that until that point, I had never spent much time processing, thinking about, or talking about. That summer, I cried more tears than I had ever let myself express or feel about prejudice that I had experienced in my life. When I saw Jesus in the crow of Asian people and when I heard him call Vuthy (a man of Asian descent), his brother, I was able to accept and embrace my own identity more. It was a big step in my journey of healing.

When we accept our identities, we can love ourselves. When we do this, we are able to love others better. To love ourselves and other people are ways that we can love God. This is the abundant life that Jesus is offering. My dream taught me that the desire of Jesus is this: that we live according to the person that God has created us to be.


a photo of a butterfly we saw on Sunday while hiking Volcán Santiagito

Mi sueño con Jesús Los sueños siempre me han dado interés. Usualmente no tengo muchos sueños que pueda recordar en las mañanas, pero tengo una amiga que tiene muchos sueños. Ella me ha dicho mucho sobre sus sueños y las significancias que ella cree que tienen cuando ella ora sobre ellos. Me dijo que debería orar por sueños de Dios y sobre Dios porque Dios nos oye. En enero de 2019, o tal vez un poco antes, empecé a orar por los sueños.

Ocho meses después, el primero de agosto, 2019, ¡me desperté llorando porque ya había tenido un sueño sobre Jesús! Era tan claro como el día. Esto fue mi sueño:

Había una multitud de personas asiáticas cerca del océano. Mi líder de World Race (un programa en que participé el año después de graduarme), quien se llama Luis, corrió muy rápido hacia mí y dijo, “¡mira a quien está en el agua!” Me movió un poco para ver más allá de la multitud. Cuando vi a Jesús, empecé a correr lo más rápido que había corrido en mi vida. Corrí a él mientras estaba llorando y le conocí a él en el agua. Estaba de rodillas al lado de Jesús con mi mano en su hombro mientras él estaba bautizando a muchas personas. Él me permitió quedarme aquí para mirar y orar. No podía parar de llorar.

No quería dejar su lado.

En un momento, Jesús extendió la mano y una mariposa, la más bella que he visto en mi vida, aterrizó en su mano. Le pregunté si sabía dónde estaba una de mis mejores amigas (la amiga que me dijo que orara por los sueños). Él me dijo ‘sí’ en una manera que me demostró que Dios es omnisciente. Entonces, le pregunté que si podría enviar la mariposa a mi amiga porque las mariposas tienen una significancia importante en su relación con Dios. Le recuerdan de la bondad y fidelidad de Dios. Jesús me dijo que sí, él podría hacerlo. Me asombré. Él era tan gentil y amable.

Hablaba con él y le preguntaba muchas cosas.

Le conté sobre mis miedos y como no quería hablar con la gente sobre él y que tenía mucha vergüenza porque me podía sentir empujada por el espíritu santo para compartir. Cuando no obedecía, tenía mucha vergüenza de pasar tiempo con él otra vez.

Él me escuchaba con intencionalidad, gracia y cuidado. Podía entender que su amor para mí nunca va a cambiar. Él tenía tanta paciencia. Quería escucharme y oír todas mis preguntas. Jesús me dijo fuera a hablar con un hombre de Asia que se llama Vuthy. Le dije que tenía mucho miedo y el respondió que este hombre era su hermano. Estaba muy sorprendida, aunque me di cuenta de que él estaba diciendo que las personas quienes él estaba bautizando eran sus hermanos y hermanas porque somos los hijos de Dios. Él me dijo que no necesitaba tener miedo. Él estaba conmigo.

Todavía, no tengo muchas palabras para describir esta experiencia. Estoy muy agradecida por este sueño. Me sanó algo en mi espíritu. Era significativo en ese punto de mi vida porque ese verano, pasaba mucho tiempo pensando sobre mi identidad, especialmente mi identidad étnica. Pienso que la imagen de una multitud de personas asiáticas dio validez a mi identidad étnica que antes de ese punto, nunca había pasado mucho tiempo procesando, pensando, o hablando. Ese verano, lloré muchas lágrimas que nunca me había permitido expresar o sentirme del dolor de prejuicio que he experimentado en mi vida. Cuando vi a Jesús entre la multitud de personas asiáticas y cuando oí que él llamó a Vuthy (un hombre asiático) su hermano, podía aceptar y abrazar mi propia identidad más. Era un paso grande en mi camino a la sanidad.

Cuando podemos aceptar nuestras identidades, podemos amar a nosotros mismos. Cuando hacemos esto, podemos amar a otras personas mucho mejor. Amar a nosotros mismos y a otras personas son las maneras en que podemos amarle a Dios. Esta es la vida en abundancia que Jesús está ofreciendo. Mi sueño me enseñó que el deseo de Jesús es éste: tienes que vivir según la persona que Dios te ha creado a ser.


Bendiciones y amor,

Elena

42 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 comentarios


moses.latella
01 feb 2022

I love this dream so much and for so many reasons. Such a stunning picture of Jesus. I absolutely love your hand being on his shoulder! It is rich with layers of meaning and it is both divine and human in the most beautiful sort of way. Thanks for sharing, Elena. Our prayers are with you.

Me gusta

Meg Neace
Meg Neace
26 ene 2022

Such a beautiful dream, thank you so much for sharing Elena. It brought encouragement and joy to my soul! Thank you Holy Spirit for providing Elena with such a beautiful reminder of Jesus' tender heart ❤️

Me gusta
bottom of page