top of page
Search
elenadlp12

Seeds of Restoration

Hi friends! Here is my newest blog post on my internships! I wasn't able to send out an email for the last blog post I wrote, so there's also another post on my internship updates from a couple weeks ago! :)

A group of women from the women’s prison dancing a traditional Costa Rican dance at the National Children’s Museum.

Cans that were been painted by a group of women at SIFAIS.

My friend Lu transplanting plants into newly painted pots (old soda bottles)!


During this time in Costa Rica, I have the opportunity to work with two different non-profit organizations. The first organization is a ministry called Voz de Libertad. I am learning so much about restorative justice specifically within the context of the prison systems in Costa Rica. One of the most prominent and impactful themes that I have had the honor to learn about is human dignity. My whole view on humans and their inherent dignity is growing as I watch the ways that restorative justice seeks to care for all humans involved in fractured relationships (crime, abuse, violence, etc.). When I look at this image of these women dancing in dresses, I see joy and pride in themselves as they performed a traditional Costa Rican dance. These are women who are currently serving sentences at one of the women’s prisons in Costa Rica, but by watching them on stage sharing their dance with their families and community, you wouldn’t know their life circumstances. Experiences like these have helped me to see these women as fully human, not as “prisoners.” Before I would have told you that I value them as humans and that every human is made in the image of God, but these words have new weight for me now. I am so thankful for experiences that are helping me to grasp the power of restoration and of honoring the dignity of human beings. These restorative practices in prisons not only emphasizes the restoration of the individual participating in these programs and practices, but this group of women sharing their gift with their families and communities is a reminder that restoration happens on many different levels. I’m celebrating the beauty of seeing these women being supported and cheered on by their families and their community. There is a message of hope and for me has served as a reminder that people deserve chances to continue to participate in society – they should never be ostracized altogether like is so common with those who are imprisoned.

The other organization that I have the opportunity to work with two days a week is called SIFAIS. It is in a part of San José known as La Carpio, an area where many Nicaraguan migrants live. In this internship, I get to sit and talk with many women who are employed by the organization or participate in the classes and activities that the organization offers to the community. SIFAIS focuses on empowering, educating, and giving practical skills to members in the community, but it also has a holistic focus. One example of how they are seeking to holistically care for the community is by restoring old materials like cans of food and using them for something else. I spend a lot of time painting these cans to be used as little pots for plants. These images represent another kind of restorative practice to me – one that is focused not just on human relationships, but on our relationship with the environment. Seeing these beautiful new creations reminds me to celebrate how creative restoration can be. Because restoration is based upon relationships, and relationships are connected to unique and individual humans, restoration is an inherently creative process, just as humans are inherently creative.

To me, these images serve as such beautiful reminders of the restoration that is happening in the world. Even though my eyes have been opened to and my heart broken over so many injustices during my last couple months in Central America, I am encouraged and hopeful of the work of restoration that is being expressed in many ways and in many different contexts. Seeds of restoration are being creatively planted. I am so thankful for the gift of these two organizations and for receiving new perspectives through my internships with Voz de Libertad and SIFAIS.


Thank you for following along and supporting me in the journey! Please keep praying for me in these internships! I am so thankful for them, but there have still been a lot of challenges. Continuing to practice thankfulness everyday!


En la paz de Cristo,

Elena

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page